Mamata Banerjee to take oath as Bengal CM for third time on May 5

Mamata Banerjee to take oath as Bengal CM for third time on May 5

Mamata to take oath as Bengal CM for third time on May 5

Kolkata, May 3

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee can be sworn in as the chief minister of West Bengal for the third time on May 5 at Raj Bhavan, Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar stated on Monday.

Only a number of invitees can be current on the programme due to the continuing COVID-19 disaster, he stated.

Earlier, Banerjee tendered her resignation from the workplace of the chief minister to the governor following norms.

“CM @MamataOfficial called on me and submitted her resignation as CM and the same has been accepted. She has been requested to continue till alternative arrangements are made,” Dhankhar tweeted.

The MLAs of the TMC unanimously elected Banerjee as the legislative social gathering chief at a gathering right here, its secretary-general Partha Chatterjee stated.

“Taking note of communication @AITCofficial electing @MamataOfficial as leader of 17th WB Legislative Assembly have invited her to take oath of office of Chief Minister on May 5 at 10.45 am at Raj Bhawan,” Dhankhar stated in one other tweet.

The TMC legislators additionally elected Biman Banerjee, the speaker within the outgoing House, as the pro-tem speaker within the new Assembly.

“The newly-elected members will take oath in the Assembly from May 6,” Chatterjee instructed reporters on the social gathering headquarters right here after the assembly of the legislators.

The TMC got here to energy for the third time in a row in West Bengal, pocketing 213 of the 292 meeting seats that went to polls, whereas its foremost challenger, the BJP, bagged 77 seats. PTI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here