In a First Since 2001, 11 Women MLAs Elected to Kerala Assembly, UDF Has Lone Representative

News18 Logo

For the primary time since 2001, there can be double digit illustration of girls MLAs within the Kerala Assembly as 11 of them have been elected to the 140 member home within the April 6 polls. A complete of 103 ladies contested within the elections, however solely 11 made it into the meeting, as per the Election Commission figures.

The variety of ladies representatives within the Assembly was simply eight within the 2016 elections. There had been 13 ladies MLAs in Kerala in 1996,as per the figures.

This time, there can be 10 ruling LDF ladies MLAs and a lone lady consultant of the UDF opposition camp- the front-backed RMP chief KK Rema, who received from Vadakara in Kozhikode. As the widow of slain RMP chief TP Chandrasekharan, this victory was additionally candy private revenge for Rema towards the ruling CPI(M).

A firebrand native chief who broke away from the Marxist occasion, Chandrasekharan was hacked to demise, allegedly by the CPI(M) employees on May 4, 2012. Health Minister Okay Okay Shailaja will enter the House with a report majority of over 60,000 votes from Mattannur constituency.

It is the second time period for Veena George, CK Asha and U Prathibha. The outstanding losers embody Fisheries Minister J Mercykutty Amma, former Congress minister PK Jayalakshmi, ex-MLA Shanimol Usman, DCC president Bindhu Krishna and senior BJP chief Sobha Surendran.

Though BJP-led NDA fielded essentially the most variety of ladies (20) within the April 6 polls, none of them made it to the House.

Read all of the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News right here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here