Himachal civic polls: 12% polling in 1st two hrs in Dharamshala, 13% in Palampur

Voting underway for municipal corporation elections in Dharamshala. (ANI)
Click Below For More Details 👇

A turnout of 12 per cent was recorded in the primary two hours of voting in Dharamshala and 13 per cent in Palampur in Himachal Pradesh, the place polling for 4 municipal companies is underway on Wednesday, officers stated.

Click Below For More Details 👇

Polling is being held at Dharamshala, Mandi, Solan and Palampur from 8 am to 4 pm.

Mandi, Solan and Palampur are the newly-created civic our bodies and are going for polls for the primary time, whereas the Dharamshala municipal company was created in 2015 when the elections weren’t held on occasion symbols.

Dharamshala Municipal Corporation has 20 councillors and 17 of them are straight elected and three are nominated by the state authorities. The councilors have been elected by means of direct election which was held in April 2016.

Elections are additionally being held concurrently in six newly-created nagar panchayats — Chirgaon and Nerwa in Shimla district, Ani and Nirmand in Kullu district, Kandaghat in Solan and Amb in Una district.

The voting began at a gradual tempo however is step by step gaining momentum, an election official stated.

In a tweet, Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jairam Thakur appealed to the individuals to vote in massive numbers and take part in the pageant of democracy.

A complete of 279 candidates try their luck in 64 wards of the 4 municipal our bodies, however the direct contest is probably going between the BJP and the Congress candidates.

The Aam Aadmi Party has additionally fielded its candidates in 43 out of a complete of 64 wards, whereas the CPI(M) has fielded just one candidate in a ward in Mandi.

Eighty candidates are in the fray for 17 wards of Dharamshala, adopted by 75 candidates for 15 wards of Mandi, 64 candidates for 15 wards of Palampur and 60 candidates for Solan.

The counting of votes can be taken up instantly after the top of the polling at 4 pm on the municipal headquarters.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a sound e mail

* Thank you for subscribing to our e-newsletter.

Click Below For Latest News 👇


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here