Chennai Bats for DMK as Party Gains Stronghold in the Region

News18 Logo

The DMK appears to have received over the citizens of Tamil Nadu capital Chennai solely as the social gathering has bagged all 16 seats underneath the Chennai metropolitan space. Though the social gathering has held sway over the metropolis’s voters in earlier elections too, 2021 has been a clear sweep.

In 2016, the AIADMK had six MLAs from Chennai — together with former chief minister J Jayalalithaa who had contested from RK Nagar. One of the extra influential ministers D Jayakumar was additionally from a Chennai constituency, Royapuram.

This is the metropolis which has seen prime names of DMK like MK Stalin, Udayanidhi Stalin, N Ezhilan, BJP’s Khushboo Sundar, ADMK minister D Jayakumar and former IPS officer R Nataraj all contesting.

These elections, although, have given sharp victories to the DMK. While Stalin and his son Udayanidhi have each received from Chennai constituencies — Kolathur and Chepauk — the social gathering has gained throughout all others too. In Thousand Lights, its candidate Ezhilan has defeated high-profile Khushboo Sundar of the BJP by over 17,000 votes.

In the conservative Mylapore phase, former IPS officer and Jaya loyalist R Nataraj misplaced to DMK’s Velu. In Harbour, even as BJP’s Vinoj Selvan obtained preliminary leads, he finally misplaced to DMK’s Sekar Babu by over 25,000 votes.

Further, the two events noticed a detailed struggle in T Nagar, the place in the end DMK’s J Karunanithi prevailed over erstwhle AIADMK MLA and by a margin of simply 137 votes. Possibly the smallest margin this election.

DMK has all the time had appreciable affect in the metropolis and now it has tightened that maintain. At the similar time, many pollsters have identified that the city votes in areas like Chennai don’t go by caste. They are often based mostly on improvement agendas, not like different areas of Tamil Nadu the place caste performs a serious position in deciding elections.

Constituency-Wise Election Results LIVE: West Bengal | Tamil Nadu | Kerala | Assam | Puducherry

LIVE Blogs: West Bengal | Tamil Nadu | Kerala | Assam


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here